Sohar Power

Sohar

تقرير مجلس الادارة

   

 

تقرير مجلس الإدارة

 

المساهمون الكرام،

نيابة عن أعضاء مجلس إدارة شركة صحار للطاقة ش.م.ع.ع ("الشركة") يسرني أن اقدم لكم التقرير السنوي السادس عشر للشركة عن السنة المنتهية في 31 ديسمبر 2020 و التي تقابل السنة الرابعة عشرة لتشغيل الشركة.

في 2 يونيو 2020 ، عقد مساهمو شركة صحار للطاقة اجتماع الجمعية العمومية العادية السنوي  واجتماع الجمعية العمومية غير العادية  للمصادقة على النظام الأساسي المعدل لشركة. تم عقد اجتماعات الجمعية العمومية العادية والجمعية العمومية عبر الإنترنت باستخدام المنصة الالكترونية  التي توفرها شركة مسقط للمقاصة والإيداع وفقًا لتعليمات الهيئة العامة لسوق المال.

تأسست شركة صحار للطاقة في عام 2004 بعد إرسائها مناقصة تنافسية على مشروع محطة صحار للكهرباء والمياه المستقلة حيث بدأ التشغيل في 2007. تمتلك الشركة المحطة و تقوم بتشغيلها لإنتاج 585 ميجاواط من الكهرباء و  تحلية مياه البحر لإنتاج 33 (مليون غالون إمبريالي يومياً) في منطقة ميناء صحار الصناعي.  تقوم الشركة ببيع الكهرباء والمياه الى الشركة العمانية لشراء الطاقة والمياه ش.م.ع.م حسب اتفاقية شراء الطاقة والمياه طويلة الأمد لمدة 15 عاماً في بيئة منظمة و غير تنافسية. يتم تداول اسهم الشركة في سوق مسقط للأوراق المالية منذ 2008.

 

الصحة والسلامة

لقد كان عام 2020 عاماً آخر حافلاً من ناحية أداء الصحة و السلامة حيث لم تكن هناك حوادث مضيّعة للوقت و عليه تكون الشركة قد حققت حتى نهاية العام عدد متراكم يبلغ 2,894 يوماً دون حوادث مضيّعة للوقت.  و تولي الشركة أولوية قصــوى لجوانب الصحــة و السلامة لموظفيها و المقاوليــن و الزوّار و موظفــي المشغّل "شركة صحار للتشغيل و الصيانة ش م م".

وقد شهد عام 2020 تحديًا عالميًا فريدًا يتمثل في جائحة كورونا (كوفيد -19) الذي تطلب من صحار للطاقة ومقاوليها وأصحاب المصلحة تفعيل خطة استمرارية العمل وجوانب خطط التعافي من الكوارث. اما في المكتب الرئيسي بمسقط فقد تم توجيه الموظفيين العاملين في الشركة بالضرورة البقاء في المنزل وتفعيل خطة العمل من المنزل وذلك تقليل التعرض للآخرين واتباع جميع الارشادات التي وضعتها الحكومة. اما في في المحطة ، قام المشغل شركة صحار للتشغيل والصيانة بإغلاق المحطة ، ومنع الحركة غير الضرورية من وإلى المحطة والعمل على نوبتين لمدة 14 يومًا. تم استبدالهم بمجموعة جديدة من نوبتين للأيام الـ 14 التالية. بين هذه التحولات ، خضعت المحطة لعملية تعقيم مستمرة . استمرت هذه العملية لمدة 3 أشهر بدأت من 22 مارس 2020. تم تخزين المواد الكيميائية والمواد الاستهلاكية اللازمة لعمليات المصنع لضمان توافر المصنع. تم تخفيف هذه الإجراءات منذ ذلك الحين ، ومع ذلك ، تظل الشركة ومشغلها يقظين ، مما يعزز التباعد الاجتماعي ، ويمنع الازدحام غير المرغوب فيه في المحطة ، ويضمن تطبيق جميع تدابير الحماية في المستقبل. ومن منطلق المسؤولية الاجتماعية في جانب الصحة والسلامة قامت الشركةبتبرع بمبلغ 10,000 ريال عماني و 15,000 ريال عماني لدعم صندوق وزارة الصحة و ميناء صحار الصناعي.  

 

التشغيل

إنخفض الطلب على الطاقة و المياه بشكل كبير في 2020مقارنة مع 2019 بسبب تشغيل محطة المياه الجديدة في ميناء صحار الصناعي. و ، في 2019 كانت المحطة في وضع الاستعداد معظم الوقت مما ادى الى إنخفاض الطلب على ، عليه بلغ عامل الحمولة للمحطة 2 ٪ للكهرباء (39,1٪ في 2019) و 1٪ للمياه (47,6٪ في2019).

قامت الشركة بتصدير طاقة كهربائية متراكمة بلغت 96 جيجاواط/ساعة و تم تسليم كمية مياه محلاة بلغت 0,5 مليون متر مكعب الى شبكة المياه.

حققت المحطة خلال السنة موثوقية عالية بلغت 99,59٪ للكهرباء و 99,06+ ٪ للمياه.  تم تسجيل فاقــد قسري بلغ 0,41 ٪ للكهرباء و 0,94 ٪ للمياه. 

لقد بدأت السنة التعاقدية رقم 14في 1 ابريل 2020 و تم القيام بإختبارات الأداء بنجاح و مما يثبت للشركة العمانية لشراء الطاقة والمياه السعة المضمونة للمحطة للغاز الطبيعي فقط.

بعد تشغيل المحطة لاختبار الاداء السنوي دخلت المحطة تحلية المياه ودورة البخار تحت الحفظ والحماية  في ابريل ومايو 2020.  

فيما يتعلق بالصيانة ، تمكنت الشركة من الاضطلاع بأنشطة الصيانة السنوية المطلوبة لمعداتها الرئيسية خلال فترة الشتاء 2019-2020.

تمت صيانة المحطة عن طريق شركة صحار للتشغيل و الصيانة و مقاوليها حسب توصيات المصنّع الأصلي للمعدات مع المحافظة على افضل معايير و ممارسات الصحة و السلامة و الصيانة المعمول بها في القطاع.  خضعت جميع التوربينية الغازية الى عملية الفحص الرئيسية خلال فترة الشتاء. لم يكن هناك عمليات فحص كبيرة خلال فترة الشتاء.

في أعقاب إجراء تقييم إكتمال العمليات الفنية وعمليات الصيانة في الموقع في 2017، تستمر الشركة في تنفيذ اجراءات لتحسين العمليات التجارية وإدارة المخاطر التي يمكن ان يواجهها المشروع. 

 

الأداء المالي

يسر مجلس إدارة الشركة أن يعلـن بأن الشركــة قد انهــت السنة الماليـة صافي ارباح بلغت 2,256 مليون ريال عمانــي (مليونان مائتان وستة وخمسون الف ريال عماني) مقارنة بصافي ربح 2019 والتي بلغت 1,155 ( مليون ومائة وخمسة وخمسون الف ريال عماني ) .

ويرجع السبب الى الزيادة في صافي الربح في 2020 بشكل أساسي الى انخفاض في التكلفة المباشرة ( زيت الوقود و استيراد الطاقة ) و التكلفة  غير المباشرة مقارنة بـ 2019.

بلغت الايرادات في  2020 مبلغ وقدره 27,3 مليون ريال عماني ( سبعة وعشرون مليون وثلاثمائة الف ريال عماني)  مقابل 50,6 مليون ريال عماني ( خمسون مليون وستمائة الف ريال عماني ) .ويرجع ذلك اساسا الى انخفاض عامل الحمولة على المحطة (انخفاض الطلب على الطاقة والمياه). وفقًا لاتفاقية شراء الطاقة والمياه ، فإن اختلاف عامل الحمولة ليس له أي تأثير على ربحية الشركة حيث يتم توليد الطاقة  الرئيسية للربح من السعة المتوفرة والموثوقية للمحطة ، (مدفوعا بإرتفاع عامل الحمولة) و الذي يمثل تكاليف ممرة بموجب عقد شراء الطاقة والمياه (تأثيرها المالي محايد للشركة).

إنخفضت التكاليف المباشرة من 31,1 مليون ريال عماني (واحد وثلاثون مليون ومائة الف ريال عماني)  في 2019الى 7,2  مليون ريال عماني (سبعة ملايين ومائتا الف ريال عماني) في 2020 الذي يعكس في الاساس الى انخفاض في استهلاك الغاز نتيجة انخفاض عامل الحمولة.

تم سداد القروض طويلة الأجل و تسوية اتفاقيات المقايضة حسب تواريخ الاستحقاق.  بلغ عجز التغطية لاتفاقيات المقايضة للشركة في نهاية يوم عمل 31 ديسمبر 2020 مبلغ 3,3 مليون ريال عماني (ثلاثة ملايين وثلاثمائة الف ريال عماني) مقارنة مع 4,2 مليون ريال عماني (اربعة ملايين ومائتا ألف ريال عماني) في 31 ديسمبر2019. و حسب المعيار المحاسبي الدولي رقم  39 فان عجز التغطية يحتسب عند كل ميزانية عمومية و يمثل خسارة نظرية يمكن أن تتكبدها الشركة اذا ما ارتأت إنهاء قروض اتفاقيات المقايضة في ذلك التاريخ. على أية حال، فانه و بحسب شروط اتفاقيات التمويل فانه لا يسمح للشركة إنهاء اتفاقيات المقايضة وعليه فان الخسارة نظرية.

ان الإنخفاض في تكاليف التمويل بمقدار 0,6 مليون ريال عماني (ستمائة ألف ريال عماني) في 2020 مقارنة مع 2019 وتسديد القروض خلال السنة.

بموجب اتفاقيات التمويل المبرمة مع المقرضين، فإن شركة صحار للطاقة معرضة لآلية مقايضة النقد بدأً من 30 سبتمبر 2015 وحتى سداد كامل القرض. ان هذه الآلية ستعيق توزيعات الأرباح على المساهمين حيث ان كل النقد المتوفر سيتم تخصيصه لسداد القرض. هذه الآلية شائعة في اتفاقيات التمويل في جميع أنحاء المنطقة وتساعد على توفير تعريفة تنافسية للمشتري مثل الشركة العماينة لشراء الطاقة والمياه في وقت تقديم العطاءات . و حسب ما تم الإفصاح عنه مسبقاً، فإنه توزيع الأرباح قد توقف في 2016 و لن تكون هناك توزيعات أرباح على المساهمين حتى إعادة هيكلة قروض الشركة و التعامل بنجاح مع إزالة  آلية مقايضة النقد. لا زالت الشركة مستمرة في البحث عن فرص لاعادة تمويل القروض والخاصة بتمويل المشاريع ، لكن بعد تراجع التصنيف الائتماني لسلطنة عمان فإن البنوك المقرضة تتطلب هوامش عالية مما يجعل إعادة التمويل غير ممكنة .

و نتيجة لآلية مقايضة النقد و عدم قدرة الشركة على دفع ارباح و إنخفاض مؤشر سوق رأس المال العماني على مستوى العالم في 2020 انخفض سعر  السهم من 0.061 بيسة للسهم الى 0.045 بيسة للسهم خلال السنة. 

لا توجد على الشركة اية دعاوي قانونية كما هو في 31 ديسمبر2020.

 

حوكمة الشركة

و في سياق الجهود المبذولة خلال الأعوام السابقة، تقوم الشركة على ضمان ان انظمتها و إجراءاتها و سياساتها تتّبع اعلى معايير الحوكمة و الالتزام المتواصل مع متطلبات ميثاق الحوكمة الجديد الصادر عن الهيئة العامة لسوق المال المعمول به منذ يوليو 2016. 

بعد اصدار قانون الشركات التجارية الجديد بالمرسوم السلطاني رقم 18/2019 قامت الشركة مع المستشار القانوني بتعديل النظام الاساسي للشركة وذلك بما يتوافق مع قانون الشركات التجارية. تمت الموافقة على تعديل النظام الاساسي للشركة في الجمعية  العامة غير العادية المنعقدة بتاريخ 2 يونيو 2020. 

تابعت لجنة التدقيق ومجلس الادارة خطة العمل المقدمة من المستشار المستقل والذي تم تعيينة لمراجعة  نظام التدقيق الداخلي للشركة  ، يجري النظر في معالجة الاجراءات الموصى بها لمزيد من التحسينات.

بعد إستقالة المدقق الداخلي للشركة وافق مجلس الادارة و لجنة التدقيق وبعد موافقة الهيئة العامة لسوق المال على تعيين مكتب تدقيق خارجي للقيام باعمال التدقيق للربع الثالث والرابع لعام 2020.

 

التوظيف

في اطار سعيها الحثيث لتنمية و وتدريب الشباب العماني، قامت الشركة ومقاول التشغيل بالحفاظ على نسبة التعمين 84.5٪ حتى نهاية2020.

 

المسئولية الإجتماعية

قامت الشركة خلال 2020 بتقديم مساهمتها للمجتمع المحلي و الأعمال البلدية خصوصاً في محافظة شمال الباطنة مع التركيز على مجالات التعليم و الصحة و السلامة و التنمية المجتمعية و حماية البيئة. وقد قامت شركة صحار في 2020 بالمساهمة في المشاريع المحلية التي تستهدف المجتمعات المحلية و الشعب العماني. واجه العالم تحديا كبير وغير مسبوق وذلك بتفشي وباء فيروس كورونا ( كوفيدا-19) ، ومن منطلق المسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركة فقد ساهمت الشركة بدعم وزارة الصحة بمبلغ 10,000 ريال عماني للتخفيف من الاثار المرتبة من جائجة كورونا ( كوفيد-19) وفي السياق نفسه وبمبادرة من شركة ميناء صحار الصناعي ساهمت الشركة مبلغ وقدرة 15,000 ريال عماني لانشاء مختبر متخصص تحت رعاية وزارة الصحة ويكون مقره في ميناء صحار الصناعي وذلك اجل تسريع عمليات الفحص لضمان التشغيل السلس داخل منطقة  ميناء صحار الصناعي والتي تقع فيها المحطة. 

كما شاركت الشركة بمبلغ وقدرة 8000 ريال عماني لدعم مبادرة وزارة التربية والتعليم لمسابقة تطوير وابتكار تطبيقات الذكية والتي تعمل على الاجهزة المحمولة بتدريب حوالي 200 طالب على تطوير وإبتكار تطبيقات ذكية  ، سيشارك  افضل طالبين في مسابقة معهد ماساتشوستش للتكنولوجيا الدولية

 

النظرة المستقبلية عام 2021

بالنظر الى المستقبل ، فان المؤمل ان تواصل الشركة عملياتها بموثوقية على الرغم انه من المتوقع ان يكون مستوى انتاج الطاقة والمياه بنفس المستوى في عام 2020 كما نأمل القيام بأعمال انشطة الصيانة الدورية في بيئة عمل آمنة لجميع الموظفين و المقاولين و الزوّار. 

خلال 2018، شاركت الشركة في تقديم العطاءات لـعملية " شراء الطاقة 2022" والتي اطلقتها الشركة العمانية لشراء الطاقة والمياه ، وكجزء من إجراءات المناقصة، قامت الشركة العمانية لشراء الطاقة والمياه بإخطار الشركة في 7 فبراير 2019 بأنها قامت بتأهيل عرضها للطاقة فقط ولم يتم تأهيل عرض الطاقة والمياه ، وعليه فقد قامت الشركة في 28 فبراير 2019 بتقديم العطاء الملزم لعطاء للطاقة فقط وذلك بعد حصولها على الموافقة من الجمعية العامة العادية المنعقد بتاريع 26 فبراير 2019.

نتيجة لذلك ، لن تتمكن الشركة من مواصلة عمليات محطة التحلية بعد انتهاء الفترة الحالية من إتفاقية شراء الطاقة والمياه والتي ستنتهي في مارس 2022. وقد أدت هذه الحالة إلى مراجعة انخفاض قيمة محطة التحلية التي نتج عنها خسارة انخفاض قيمتها 18,554 مليون ريال عماني. وتم تسجيلها في السنة المالية 2018 . كما انه تم تعديل العمر الافتراضي لمحطة تحليلة المياه الى 15 سنة بدلا من التقديرات السابقة وهي 30 سنة ، سيكون العمر الافتراضي لمحطة التحلية 3 سنوات تقريبا  بدأ من يناير 2019. وسيتم إطفاء القيمة الدفترية المتبقية على مدى السنوات الثلاث القادمة.

شاركت الشركة في المرحلة الثانية " طلب تقديم العروض المفتوحة"  من "عملية شراء الطاقة 2022" التي أطلقتها الشركة العمانية لشراء الطاقة والمياه في 16 أكتوبر 2019. قامت الشركة بتقديم عرضها في 29 ابريل 2020 ووفقا اجراءت تقديم العروض المفتوحة. لا نزال ننتظر تعليقات الشركة العمانية لشراء الطاقة والمياه والتي تاخرت بسبب جائجة كورونا (كوفيد-19) ، ووفقا للاتصالات التي جرت مؤخرا مع هيئة تنظيم الخدمات العامة بانه كان من المتوقع الرد بحول الربع الاول من 2020. تقوم هيئة تنظيم الخدمات العامة بتقييم جاهزية السوق للبيع المباشر من خلال العقود الثنائية والتي قد توفر للمشغل مع اتفاقية شراء الطاقة والمياه المنتهية وسيلة اضافية للتعاقد على السعة.

يتمثل الهدف الرئيسي للشركة لعام 2021 في تأمين عقد شراء الطاقة جديد اعتبارا من عام 2022. وستعمل الشركة أيضًا مع مختلف أصحاب المصلحة لتقييم جدوى العقود الثنائية المحتملة لمحطها ، وفي حالة عدم نجاح شركة صحار للطاقة في عملية شراء الطاقة 2022 ، قد تعمل الشركة في السوق الفورية الذي يتم تطويره حاليًا في عمان ، والذي لم يتم الانتهاء من قواعده التنظيمية . في السوق الفورية لن يتم التعاقد على الإيرادات. وفي ضوء عدم الوضوع بخصوص السوق الفورية فمن الصعب التنبؤ بمستقبل الشركة في تشكيلتها الفنية الحالية ، ما إذا كانت ستعمل في السوق الفورية ، والتي لن تكون بالمهمة السهلة. وفي هذه الحالة ، فإن اعادة هيكلة الديون المستحقة لما بعد عقد شراء الطاقة والمياه الحالي ستكون صعبة للغاية ايضاً.

إن التحول في الطاقة يتسارع في سلطنة عمان  وذلك بسبب الانخفاض المستمر في أسعار الطاقة المتجددة مثل الخلايا الكهروضوئية والرياح ومن المحتمل أن يؤثر ذلك على القدرة التنافسية للمحطات الحرارية التقليدية الحالية وقد يقلل بشكل كبير من قيمتها إلى ما بعد فترة عقد شراء الطاقة والمياه الحالي.

نيابةً عن مجلس إدارة الشركة ، أتقدم بالشكر لجميع مساهمينا لمساندتهم المتواصلة و ثقتهم. كما أود ان اتقدم بالشكر لجميع افراد طاقم عمليات التشغيل و الصيانة في محطة صحار و كذلك الأفراد العاملين بالشركة  لعملهم الجاد و إخلاصهم و تفانيهم.

وفي الختام ، نود أن أعرب عن امتناننا لجلالة السلطان هيثم بن طارق وحكومته على توجيههم المستمر ودعمهم وتشجيعهم للقطاع الخاص.

 

و السلام عليكم و رحمة الله وبركاته ...

 

لوسيانو جيفانتي

رئيس مجلس الإدارة

shade

Sohar Power

Sohar

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' REPORT

 

 
Dear Shareholders,
 
On behalf of the Board of Directors of Sohar Power Company SAOG (“Sohar Power” or the “Company”), I am pleased to present you with the sixteenth Annual Report of the Company for the year ended 31 December 2020, corresponding to the fourteenth year of operations of the Company.

On 2nd June 2020, Sohar Power Company shareholders held their Annual Ordinary General Meeting (“AGM”) and an Extraordinary General Meeting (“OGM”) to approve the amended Compnay’s Article of Association. The AGM and OGM were hold online using the platform provided by MCDC pursuant to the CMA instructions.

Sohar Power was incorporated in 2004 after the award of the Sohar IWPP project resulting from a competitive bidding process and started its operations in 2007. The Company owns and operates the 585MW electricity generation and 33MIGD seawater desalination plant in Sohar Port and Freezone industrial area. It sells electricity and water to Oman Power and Water Procurement Company SAOC (“OPWP”) under a 15-year Power and Water Purchase Agreement (“PWPA”), in a regula ed but not competitive environment. The Company has been listed on the Muscat Securities Market since 2008.

 

Health & Safety

The year 2020 has seen excellent Health and Safety performance for Sohar Power. There were no Lost Time Accidents (LTA), accumulating to 2,894 days without LTA at the end of the year. The Health and Safety of our employees, contractors, and visitors remains the utmost priority for the Company and its operator Sohar Operations & Maintenance Company LLC (“SOMC”).

The year also saw a unique global challenge in the form of the COVID-19 pandemic that required Sohar Power, its contractors and stakeholders to activate their Business Continuity and aspects of Disaster Recovery plans . At the Muscat office, all employees were instructed to work from home, minimise exposure to others and follow all government laid down rulings. At the Plant, the Operator SOMC instituted a lock down at the Plant, preventing unessential movement to and from the Plant and stationing two shifts for a period of 14 days, which continued for a period of 3 months commencing March 22, 2020. While these measures have now been relaxed, the Company and its Operator remain vigilant, promoting social distancing, and ensuring that all protection measures are in place going forward. The Company has donated OMR 10,000 and OMR 15,000 to support the COVID-19 initiatives of MoH fund and Sohar Industrial Port respectively.

 

Operations

The demand for power and water significantly decreased in 2020 compared to 2019 due to the entrance of new water plant in the port area. The plant was in standby mode most of the time in this year; thus the demand for power has also decreased. Accordingly, the load factors of the plant reached 2% for power (39.1% in 2019) and 1% for water (47.6% in 2019).

An aggregate of 96 GWh net power and 0.5 Million m3 potable water was delivered to the electricity and water grids during the year.

The plant achieved 99.59% reliability for power and 99.06% for water in 2020. Forced outages amounted to 0.41% for the power plant and 0.94% for the water plant.

The Contract Year 14 started on 01 April 2020. The annual performance test was successfully undertaken, demonstrating to OPWP the guaranteed capacity of the plant on  fuel gas only.

Following the plant being operated for  annual performance test , the plant went through preservation process on April and May 2020 for the entire water plant and water/steam cycle.

The Company was able to undertake the required annual maintenance activities of its key equipment during the 2019-2020 winter period.

Maintenance activities were performed by SOMC and its sub-contractors, in accordance with Original Equipment Manufacturers’ recommendations, while applying the best standards and practices for health & safety and maintenance of the industry.  All gas turbines underwent regular annual maintenance during the Winter Period; there were no Major Inspections undertaken during the Winter Period.

Financial Performance

The Board of Directors would like to announce that the Company has ended the year with a net profit of RO 2.256 million compared to a net profit of RO 1.155 million in 2019.

The increase in net profit in 2020 is mainly due to the lower direct cost (fuel oil and import power) and indirect cost compared to 2019.

The revenues for the year 2020 amount to RO  27.3 million against RO 50.6  million for the year 2019. This mainly due to lower load factor of the plant (low power and water demand). As per the PWPA agreement with the off-taker, the variation of the Load Factor has no impact on the company profitability as the mainstream of the profit is generated from the available capacity and reliability of the plant, (load factor is a pass-through item under the PWPA (and financially neutral to the Company).

The direct costs, have decreased from RO 31.1 million in 2019 to RO 7.2 million in 2020, due to mainly the decrease in gas consumption as a result of lower load factor.

Long term loans were repaid, and swaps were settled on their due dates. The hedging deficit on the Company's swap agreements at the close of business on 31 December 2020, was RO 3.3 million, in comparison with valuations as of 31 December 2019 of RO 4.2 million. As per IAS 39, hedging deficit is calculated on each balance sheet date, and it represents a notional loss, which the Company may incur if it opts to terminate the swap agreements on this date. However, under the terms of Financing Agreements, the Company is not permitted to terminate its swap agreements and, as such, the loss is notional.

The reduction in finance costs by RO 0.6 million in 2020 in comparison to 2019 is associated with debt repayments during the year.

Under its Financing Agreements entered into with its lenders, Sohar Power is subject to a cash sweep mechanism which started on 30 September 2015 and will last until the full repayment of the long-term loans. The cash sweep mechanism prevents the distribution of dividends to shareholders since all the available cash is devoted to the repayment of the loans. This mechanism is common in financing agreements throughout the region and helps to provide a competitive tariff for an off-taker such as OPWP at the time of the bid. As previously disclosed, the payout of dividends ended in 2016, and there will be no more dividend distributions to shareholders unless the debt of the Company is refinanced and the cash sweep is successfully removed. The Company has explored and continues to explore opportunities to refinance its project finance debt.

As a consequence of the cash sweep, the inability of the Company to distribute dividends, and the decrease of the global and Omani Capital Market indices in 2020, the share price dropped from RO 0.061 to RO 0.045 during the year.

There are no legal proceedings against the Company as of 31 December 2020.

 

Corporate Governance

 

In line with efforts deployed in previous years, the Company ensured that its organization, systems, policies, and procedures follow the highest standards of governance to comply at all times with the Code of Corporate Governance promulgated by CMA, including the new Code requirements effective since July 2016.

After the issuance of the new Company Commercial laws in Feb 2019 pursuant to the Royal Decree 18/2019 , the company has amended  its Article of Association (“AoA”) to ensure full compliance. The new AoA has been approved by the board of directors and then by  the shareholder in an online EGM held on 2nd June 2020.

Audit Committee and the Board have pursued the  action plan arose from third-party consultant audit to review the internal audit system and process of the company was set to address the recommended action for further improvements.

After resignation of the internal auditor of the Company, the Audit Committee and the Board has appronted, after CMA approval, an external firm to perform the IA activities of the company for Q3 and Q4 of 2020.

 

Employment

Pursuing their continued efforts to develop, train, and employ Omanis, the Company and its operator have maintained the Omanisation level at 84.5% at the end of 2020.

 

Corporate Social Responsibility

In 2020, the Company further extended its support to the local community and municipality projects, mainly in North Batinah Governorate, while focusing on education, health and safety, social development and environment protection. Sohar Power was able to contribute to local projects intended for the local communities and the people of the Sultanate of Oman. The world faced unprecednt challenge of COVID-19 in 2020, the company has contributed and support the Ministry of Health with 10,000 OMR to alleviate the spread of COVID-19. In addtion to 10,000 OMR;  The Company has contributed 15,000 OMR to the SIPC initiative to setup a dedicated testing laboratory under the auspices of the Ministry of Health for COVID-19 and other type of viruses. The laboratory should speed up the testing cycles to ensure the smooth operation in the port area in which the plant is located.

The Company has  co-supported an initiative of The Ministry of education to train around 200 students on mobile app development and then launch a competition for them. The top 2 will participate in international MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) competitions. The donation amount is around 8,000 OMR.

 

Outlook for 2021

Looking ahead, the Company expects to maintain high reliability even though the delivered power and water level is expected to be at a same level seen in 2020, while undertaking periodic maintenance activities, in a safe working environment for its employees, contractors and visitors.

During the year 2018, the Company engaged in the ‘2022 Power Procurement process’ launched by OPWP. As part of the process, OPWP has notified the Company on 7 February 2019 that it has pre-qualified its Power only offer but did not pre-qualify its Power and Water offer. The Company has submitted a Binding Bid for its Power only offer on February 28, 2019, after seeking approval during the Ordinary General Meeting held on February 26, 2019.

As a consequence, the Company will not be able to extend the operations of its water desalination plant beyond the term of the current PWPA ending in March 2022. This situation triggered an impairment review of the Desalination plant, which resulted in an impairment loss of RO 18.554 million that is recorded in the financial year 2018. The useful life of the Desalination plant has also been revised to 15 years from the earlier estimate of 30 years. The Desalination plant will have a remaining useful life of around three years starting January 2019, and the residual book value will be amortized over the coming 3 years.

The Company engaged as well in the second phase of ‘2022 Power Procurement process’ launched by OPWP RfP on 16th October 2019. The Company has submitted its offers on 29th April 2020 as per the processes of the RfP. OPWP feedback is still awaited which got delayed due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandamic and other factors. As per the recent communication from the Authority of Public Services Regulation (APSR), the response is expected by the end of Q1 2021. APSR is assessing the market readiness for direct sale of power by allowing bilateral contracts which may provide generators with expiring PPA an additional avenue to contract their power capacity.

The Company’s main objective for 2021 is to secure a new PPA with effect from 2022. The Company will also engage with different stakeholders to assess the feasibility of the potential bilateral contracts for its plant. In case SPC is unsuccessful in the Power 2022 Procurement process, the Company may operate in the Spot Market currently being developed in Oman, for which the rules are not yet fully finalised.  Revenues will not be contracted in the Omani Spot Market, it will be subject to the overall supply and demand in the Market. In view of the uncertainties surrounding the Spot Market, it is very difficult to predict the future of the Company in its current technical configuration, should it operate in the Spot Market, but it will be very challenging. In such case, restructuring the outstanding debt after the current term of PWPA will be very challenging as well.

The energy transition is accelerating in Oman, caused by the continuous drop in prices for renewable energy such as photovoltaics and wind. This is likely to impact the competitiveness of existing conventional thermal plants and might substantially reduce their value beyond the term of their current P(W)PA.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, I wish to thank our valued shareholders for their continued support, trust, and confidence. I would also like to thank all the personnel associated with the operation and maintenance of the plant in Sohar and the staff of the Company for their loyalty, dedication and commitment.

I would also like to express our gratitude to His Majesty Sultan Haitham bin Tarik and His Government for their continued guidance, support and encouragement to the private sector.

 

 

Luciano Guffanti

Chairman of the Board

shade